Bay House School has a rich history, which can be traced back to 1838!
Alexander Baring, who later became Lord Ashburton, built the house that now forms part of the school as his summer residence. The architect of the house also designed the arch on Constitution Hill.
In 1870, a naval college was established at Bay House, which became known as Ashburton House. Prince Alfred Ernest, Duke of Edinburgh, who was Queen Victoria’s second son, attended the academy. He stayed at Alverbank House while he was studying there.
In 1892, Col. Francis Sloane-Stanley, a close friend of the Prince of Wales - who was later to become King Edward VII - took over the house.
In 1943 the house was sold to Gosport Borough Council, and the 17 acres of parkland were donated to the people of the borough. This marked an important period in the house’s history, as it was a base for the Royal Engineers during the war.
Following the war, the house became Gosport County Grammar School. The school was renamed Bay House School in 1972. It has developed significantly since this time, including introducing a Sixth Form to the Gosport area.
We are incredibly proud of the school’s history and the progress that it has made over recent years.